Dimanche 11 juin à Flushing Meadows Corona Park

QUEENS, NY - La présidente de l'arrondissement Melinda Katz, en partenariat avec le contrôleur municipal Scott Stringer, NYC Parks, City Parks Foundation, NYC & Company Foundation, Delta Air Lines et Resorts World Casino New York City, a annoncé aujourd'hui les détails du festival d'été 2017 " Only in Queens Summer Festival " qui aura lieu le dimanche 11 juin 2017 de 14h00 à 20h00 dans le Flushing Meadows Corona Park. L'entrée est gratuite et ouverte au public.

Le festival présentera un concert en plein air SummerStage à partir de 17 heures, avec en tête d'affiche la légende de la musique funk GEORGE CLINTON et son groupe PARLIAMENT FUNKADELIC. Animé par l'artiste hip-hop ROXANNE SHANTÉ , originaire du Queens, le programme du concert Summerstage comprend le duo de jeunes sœurs R&B CHLOE x HALLE, le groupe hip-hop MAIN SOURCE et DJ MARLEY MARL, originaire du Queens.

Le festival proposera également un large éventail d'activités pour les personnes de tous âges, notamment :

Les sponsors médias du festival d'été Only in Queens 2017 sont le New York Daily News, Gothamist et Time Out NewYork. Pour plus d'informations, rendez-vous sur www.queensbp.org/onlyinqueens.

"Nous sommes heureux de perpétuer la tradition du festival d'été annuel Only in Queens dans le parc Flushing Meadows Corona, entièrement gratuit pour le public", a déclaré le président de l'arrondissement KATZ. "La musique, la nourriture et le plaisir dans le parc sont ce dont les étés new-yorkais sont faits, en particulier ici dans le borough des familles."

"Quelle tradition formidable, et quel événement merveilleux pour les familles. Cet événement démontre ce qu'est le Queens - et toute la ville de New York -", a déclaré le contrôleur municipal SCOTT STRINGER.

"Il n'y a que dans le Queens qu'il est possible d'assister à des spectacles musicaux de classe mondiale et d'explorer le site historique de l'Exposition universelle, le tout dans le même parc", a déclaré le commissaire aux parcs de New York, MITCHELL J. SILVER, FAICP. "NYC Parks est fier de s'associer une fois de plus avec le président de l'arrondissement Katz pour apporter ce grand événement culturel et communautaire à Flushing Meadows Corona Park."

Le SummerStage de la City Parks Foundation est ravi d'être un partenaire du festival Only In Queens de cette année", a déclaré HEATHER LUBOV, directrice exécutive de la City Parks Foundation. "Présenter un ensemble d'artistes aussi dynamiques à Flushing Meadows Corona Park donne vie à notre mission et contribue à créer des expériences culturelles dynamiques et accessibles dans les parcs du Queens."

"Le festival d'été Only in Queens a été un ajout fantastique au riche paysage culturel du Queens, donnant aux habitants et aux visiteurs une raison supplémentaire de profiter du borough du monde", a déclaré FRED DIXON, président de la fondation NYC & Company. "NYC & Company Foundation est fière de s'associer au Borough President Katz pour célébrer le Queens et partager le programme passionnant de cet été avec les visiteurs du monde entier."

Delta est fière de redonner à la communauté qu'elle sert en soutenant le festival d'été "Only In Queens" de cette année", a déclaré HENRY KUYKENDALL, vice-président de Delta Air Lines pour New York. "Nous sommes honorés de nous associer au président de l'arrondissement Katz, au contrôleur Stringer et à d'autres personnes pour cet événement annuel qui rassemble les familles et les amis."

"Le Resorts World Casino New York City est un fier sponsor du concert de la scène d'été du festival Only in Queens Summer depuis 2014. Nous sommes toujours à la recherche de moyens de soutenir les programmes communautaires et cet événement estival est formidable ", a déclaré MICHELLE STODDART, directrice des relations publiques et du développement communautaire du Resorts World Casino New York City. "Nous aimerions remercier la présidente de l'arrondissement du Queens, Mme Katz, pour la programmation passionnante qu'elle a mise en place pour les familles du Queens cette année pour ce qui sera certainement un événement fantastique."

En tant que premier quotidien du Queens, le New York Daily News est fier d'être un sponsor média du festival d'été "Only in Queens", a déclaré RUDY ZACCAGNO, vice-président senior de la publicité au New York Daily News.

Le festival célébrera le 50e anniversaire de la désignation officielle de Flushing Meadows Corona Park comme parc de la ville de New York. Le parc a déjà accueilli les expositions universelles de 1939-40 et 1964-65.

À propos de George Clinton et Parliament Funkadelic

Le grand-père du funk ! George Clinton, membre du Rock and Roll Hall of Famer, est considéré, avec James Brown et Sly Stone, comme l'un des principaux ingénieurs du funk, un mélange groovy d'éléments soul, R&B, disco et rock. Clinton a commencé sa carrière prolifique en tant qu'auteur-compositeur pour Motown Records dans les années 1960. Il a ensuite orchestré la construction de deux des premiers groupes de la classification funk, Parliament et Funkadelic, qui ont fini par fusionner sous le nom de P-Funk (qui s'est ensuite transformé en P-Funk All-Stars). Leur son était une magnifique union des influenceurs Jimi Hendrix, Cream et Brown (le parrain de la soul), et leur a valu plus de 40 singles R&B à succès (dont trois numéros 1) et un nombre impressionnant de trois albums de platine. Dans les années 80, Clinton lance sa carrière solo (tout en continuant à se produire avec de nombreux membres de P-Funk) et se lance dans la production pour les Red Hot Chili Peppers, Bootsy Collins et d'autres groupes. Avec des titres aux noms farfelus comme "Loopzilla", "Atomic Dog" et "Do Fries Go with That Shake ? (qui reflètent parfaitement son son kaléidoscopique), Clinton continue de figurer en tête des hit-parades. Clinton est ravi que les artistes de rap échantillonnent sa musique, appréciant la compensation. Comme il l'a dit, "Il n'y a pas de meilleur moment pour être payé que lorsque vous avez mon âge". Avec seize albums à son actif, Clinton continue de tourner et d'enflammer la scène avec son funk original.

A propos de Chloe x Halle

Sœurs soul R&B, duo pop de charme et protégées de Queen Bey. Nées à Atlanta, les chanteuses Chloe et Halle Bailey ont déménagé à Los Angeles alors qu'elles n'étaient encore qu'adolescentes afin de poursuivre une carrière dans la musique. C'était sans aucun doute la bonne décision pour ces deux chanteuses précoces et soul. En 2013, leur reprise de la chanson "Pretty Hurts" est devenue virale, accumulant près de 12 millions de vues. Cela a attiré l'attention et l'oreille de Beyoncé, qui les a rapidement fait signer par sa société de gestion, Parkwood Entertainment. Après avoir été acclamés par la critique et admirés par leurs fans, ils ont également remporté le concours Next Big Thing de Disney, lors de sa cinquième saison. Leur premier EP, Sugar Symphony, est sorti en 2016, avec le single principal "Drop". La vidéo endiablée de ce titre compte plus de trois millions de vues sur YouTube, et la chanson "Fall" qui a suivi a également enregistré des performances remarquables. Les deux sœurs sont aussi exceptionnellement amies des caméras, avec de nombreuses apparitions à la télévision et au cinéma, et peut-être le plus remarquable, un caméo dans l'album visuel Lemonade de Beyoncé. Récemment, elles ont assuré la première partie de la tournée européenne de Beyoncé, The Formation World Tour, et ont participé à l'initiative "Let Girls Learn" de Michelle Obama. Ils étourdissent actuellement le public partout dans le monde avec leur talent pur et combiné et leur énergie.

À propos de Main Source

Main Source est l'un des seuls groupes de hip-hop de l'histoire à réunir des artistes de New York et du Canada. La diversité du son de Main Source est due en grande partie à ses origines transfrontalières. La formation originale comprenait deux DJ/producteurs de Toronto, Sir Scratch et K-Cut, et un MC/producteur originaire du Queens, Large Professor. Ce dernier a fini par quitter le groupe et a été remplacé par le MC Mikey D, originaire de New York, mais le contingent du Queens est resté intact. Le premier album du groupe, Breaking Atoms, sorti en 1991, est bien accueilli, les singles "Looking at the Front Door", "A Friendly Game of Baseball" et "Watch Roger Do His Thing" étant les plus populaires. Un bref déraillement du groupe a suivi, mais avec Mikey D supplanté dans le trio reformé, ils ont pu sortir (Expletive) What You Think en 1994. Le groupe est propulsé vers un public encore plus large lorsque Madonna sample la ligne de basse de "What You Need" pour son tube "Human Nature". Tous les membres du groupe (anciens et actuels) ont continué à connaître le succès dans l'industrie, K-Cut se révélant et produisant de la musique pour des gens comme Big Pun, Maestro Fresh-Wes, Fu-Schnickens, Queen Latifah et Shaquille O'Neal.

À propos de DJ Marley Marl

Marlon Williams a fait une entrée fracassante dans le monde du hip-hop, s'imposant comme l'un des tout premiers méga-producteurs. Connu sous le nom de Marley Marl, ce DJ/MC était un architecte de l'échantillonnage, utilisant de nouvelles techniques qui allaient choquer et galvaniser le son collectif du hip-hop. Maître dans l'art de détecter les nouveaux talents, Williams a créé le label Cold Chillin' et a réuni un groupe d'étoiles montantes de New York, à savoir MC Shan, Big Daddy Kane, Biz Markie, Roxanne Shanté, Kool G Rap & DJ Polo, et Masta Ace. Avec ses doigts dextres au tableau de contrôle de l'ingénierie, Marley Marl a fait ressortir le meilleur de chacun de ces artistes. En ajoutant à leurs paroles sa signature, des échantillons soulevés et des rythmes généreusement entraînants, Williams a rendu leurs compositions plus accessibles à l'ensemble de la sphère musicale. Avec ses grooves simulés à la James Brown et sa fabrication originale de boucles de batterie, le son de Marl est indéniablement actuel. Sa première incursion dans l'assemblage de groupes a vu la création du célèbre Juice Flow. Williams sortira également des disques sous son propre nom, dont un LP éponyme en 1988. Son premier véritable succès grand public, il l'a obtenu en 1990 en tant que producteur de l'omniprésente chanson de LL Cool J, Mama Said Knock You Out. Au fil des ans, alors que la forme évolue, il travaille avec les poids lourds du hip-hop et du R&B que sont TLC, Rakim, Capone-N-Noreaga, Fat Joe et même son rival de toujours, KRS-One.

À propos de Roxanne Shanté

MC originaire du Queens, reine virtuose du rap des années 80, l'une des premières femmes battantes de tous les temps. Élevée dans le Queens, l'indomptable Lolita Shanté Gooden est l'une des premières rappeuses à s'être taillé un nom indélébile. Jeune intrépide et précoce, elle commence à rapper alors qu'elle n'a que treize ans, en tant que membre du Juice Crew. L'adoption du surnom de scène Roxanne était un geste calculé pour attirer l'attention du groupe de KRS-One basé dans le Bronx (afin de déclencher une querelle lyrique avec son équipe du Queens). Dans une bataille pour la suprématie du quartier dans le hip-hop, les "guerres de Roxanne" ont commencé, et la carrière enflammée de Shanté a pris son envol. En tant qu'authentique combattante du rap, Shanté, à la voix douce et à la langue argentée, se mesure aux plus grands noms du milieu. Son premier album est une collaboration avec sa compagne MC Sparky D, 1985's Round One, Roxanne Shanté vs Sparky Dee, qui comprend les désormais classiques "Roxanne's Revenge", "Roxanne's Profile" et une pure bataille où Shanté et Sparky s'affrontent au micro. Parmi les autres succès de Shanté à cette époque, on peut citer "Have a Nice Day", un titre lourd et bravache, et "Go on Girl", un titre aux paroles agiles. Ses albums solo comprennent Bad Sister (1989), The Bitch is Back (1992) et une compilation de ses meilleurs titres (1995). Roxanne Shanté a ensuite été tutrice de jeunes artistes rap féminines et est revenue au hip-hop en 2008 avec un nouvel enregistrement de "Roxanne's Revenge" (qui venait d'être classé 42e dans le classement des 100 plus grandes chansons hip-hop de VH1).

Suivez la présidente d'arrondissement Katz via @melindakatz ou www.facebook.com/queensbpkatz

###

2017 “ONLY IN QUEENS SUMMER FESTIVAL” TO FEATURE FREE SummerStage CONCERT STARRING GEORGE CLINTON AND MORE

Posted · Add Comment

 

 

Sunday, June 11 in Flushing Meadows Corona Park

 QUEENS, NY – Borough President Melinda Katz, in partnership with City Comptroller Scott Stringer, NYC Parks, City Parks Foundation, NYC & Company Foundation, Delta Air Lines and Resorts World Casino New York City, today announced details of the 2017 “Only in Queens Summer Festival” which will take place on Sunday, June 11, 2017 from 2:00 – 8:00 PM in Flushing Meadows Corona Park. Admission is free and open to the public.

The Festival will feature a SummerStage outdoor concert beginning at 5:00 PM headlined by funk music legend GEORGE CLINTON and his band PARLIAMENT FUNKADELIC. Hosted by hip-hop artist and Queens native ROXANNE SHANTÉ, the Summerstage concert line-up includes young R&B sisters duo CHLOE x HALLE, the hip-hop group MAIN SOURCE and Queens native DJ MARLEY MARL.

The Festival will also offer a wide range of activities for people of all ages, including:

  • Additional live entertainment on the Unisphere Stage featuring Queens native BARTLETT CONTEMPORARIES (performing a variety from bebop to hip-hop), ALIVE N’ KICKIN (a 60’s cover band) and THE DEVOTIONS (a Doo-wop group with members who hail from Queens);
  • Guided tours of the New York State Pavilion led by NYC Parks’ volunteer group, the New York State Pavilion Painting Project;
  • A park-wide scavenger hunt with clues that test participants’ knowledge of the 1939-40 and 1964-65 World’s Fairs and of the park as it is today;
  • Food and craft vendors from the Queens International Night Market.

Media sponsors for the 2017 Only in Queens Summer Festival include the New York Daily News, Gothamist and Time Out NewYork. For more information, go to www.queensbp.org/onlyinqueens.

“We are pleased to continue the tradition of the annual Only in Queens Summer Festival in Flushing Meadows Corona Park, entirely free to the public,” said Borough President KATZ. “Music, food and fun in the park are what New York summers are made of, especially here in the borough of families.”

“What a terrific tradition, and what a wonderful event for families. This event demonstrates what Queens — and all of New York City — is all about,” said City Comptroller SCOTT STRINGER.

“Only in Queens can you enjoy world-class musical acts and explore the grounds of the historic World’s Fair — all in the same park!” said NYC Parks Commissioner MITCHELL J. SILVER, FAICP. “NYC Parks is proud to partner with Borough President Katz once again to bring this great cultural and community event to Flushing Meadows Corona Park.”

Parks Foundation’s SummerStage is thrilled to be a partner of this year’s Only In Queens Festival,” said HEATHER LUBOV, Executive Director of City Parks Foundation. “Showcasing such a dynamic set of artists in Flushing Meadows Corona Park brings our mission to life and helps create vibrant and accessible cultural experiences in Queens parks.”

“Only in Queens Summer Festival has been a fantastic addition to Queens’ rich cultural landscape, giving locals and visitors yet another reason to enjoy the world’s borough,” said FRED DIXON, President of NYC & Company Foundation. “NYC & Company Foundation is proud to partner with Borough President Katz in celebrating Queens and sharing this summer’s exciting line-up with visitors from around the world.”

“Delta is proud to give back to the community it serves by supporting this year’s ‘Only In Queens Summer Festival,’” said HENRY KUYKENDALL, Vice President-New York, Delta Air Lines. “We are honored to partner with Borough President Katz, Comptroller Stringer, and others on this annual event that brings families and friends together.”

 “Resorts World Casino New York City has been a proud sponsor of the Only in Queens Summer Festival Summer Stage Concert since 2014. We are always looking for ways to support community programs and this summer event is great to be part of,” said MICHELLE STODDART, Director of PR and Community Development at Resorts World Casino New York City. “We would like to thank Queens Borough President Katz for the exciting programming she has put together for Queens families this year for what is sure to be a fantastic event.”

“As Queens’ #1 daily newspaper, the New York Daily News proud to be a media sponsor for the ‘Only in Queens’ summer festival,” said RUDY ZACCAGNO, Senior Vice President of Advertising at the New York Daily News.

The Festival will celebrate the 50th anniversary of the official designation of Flushing Meadows Corona Park as a New York City park. The park previously served as the site of the 1939-40 and 1964-65 World’s Fairs.

About George Clinton and Parliament Funkadelic

The granddaddy of funk! Rock and Roll Hall of Famer George Clinton, along with James Brown and Sly Stone, is credited as one of the principal engineers of funk, a groovy mix of soul, R&B, disco and rock elements. Clinton started off his prolific career as a staff songwriter at Motown Records in the 1960’s. He later orchestrated the construction of two of the earliest bands in the funk classification, Parliament and Funkadelic, which would eventually merge under the name P-Funk (which later morphed into the P-Funk All-Stars). Their sound was a magnificent union of influencers Jimi Hendrix, Cream and Brown (The Godfather of Soul), and would earn them over 40 R&B smash singles (with three #1’s) and an impressive three platinum albums. The 80’s saw Clinton’s solo career launch (still performing with numerous members of P-Funk), as well as a delving into producing, for hot acts Red Hot Chili Peppers, Bootsy Collins and more. With wildly named tracks like “Loopzilla,” “Atomic Dog,” and “Do Fries Go with That Shake?” (that perfectly mirrored his kaleidoscopic sound), Clinton continued to top the charts. Clinton delighted as rap artists sampled his music, enjoying the compensation. As he put it, “Aint a better time to get paid than when you’re my age.” With sixteen albums to his name, Clinton continues to tour and set the stage afire with original funk.

About Chloe x Halle

R&B soul sisters, a charming pop duo and protégés of Queen Bey. Born in Atlanta, singers Chloe and Halle Bailey moved to Los Angeles while still in their teens to pursue careers in music. This was undoubtedly the right decision for these two precocious and soulful vocalists. In 2013 their cover of the song “Pretty Hurts” went viral, racking up nearly 12 million views. This caught the eye and ear of Beyoncé, who promptly signed them to her management company, Parkwood Entertainment. Chalking up critical acclaim and further fan admiration, they also won Disney’s Next Big Thing competition, in its fifth season. Their debut EP, Sugar Symphony, was released in 2016, featuring the lead single “Drop.” The boisterous video for this track has over three million views on YouTube, and the song “Fall” that followed also performed remarkably well. The two sisters are exceptionally camera-friendly too, with numerous TV and film appearances, and perhaps most notable, a cameo in Beyoncé’s Lemonade visual album. Recently they served as Beyoncé’s opening act for the European leg of The Formation World Tour, and participated in Michelle Obama’s “Let Girls Learn” initiative. They currently stun audiences all over with their pure, combined talent and energy.

About Main Source

One of the only hip hop groups in history to unite artists from New York City and Canada, Main Source’s diversified sound is due in no small part to their border-crossing origins. The original lineup included two Toronto-based DJ/producers, Sir Scratch and K-Cut, and one Queens-native MC/producer, Large Professor. The aforementioned Professor would eventually vacate the group and be replaced by New York local MC Mikey D, keeping the Queens contingency intact. The unit’s first album, 1991’s Breaking Atoms, was well received, with thought-provoking singles “Looking at the Front Door,” “A Friendly Game of Baseball,” and “Watch Roger Do His Thing” getting the most traction. A brief derailment for the group followed, but with Mikey D supplanted into the reformed trio, they were able to release 1994’s (Expletive) What You Think. The group was propelled to an even wider audience as Madonna sampled the bassline track from “What You Need” for her hit “Human Nature.” All of the group’s members (past and present) continued to enjoy success in the industry, with K-Cut breaking out and producing music for the likes of Big Pun, Maestro Fresh-Wes, Fu-Schnickens, Queen Latifah, and Shaquille O’Neal. 

About DJ Marley Marl

Marlon Williams came out swinging in the hip hop world, establishing himself as one of the first ever mega-producers. Known as Marley Marl, this DJ/MC was an architect in sampling, utilizing new-found techniques that would shock and galvanize the collective sound of hip hop. A master prognosticator for new talent, Williams created the Cold Chillin’ label, and put together a cadre of NYC’s rising stars, namely MC Shan, Big Daddy Kane, Biz Markie, Roxanne Shanté, Kool G Rap & DJ Polo, and Masta Ace. With his dexterous fingers at the control board in the engineering both, Marley Marl brought out the best in each of these performers. Adding his signature, lifted samples and bountifully catchy beats to their words, Williams made their compositions more accessible to the entire music sphere. With his James Brown-esque simulated grooves and original drum loop fabrication, Marl’s sound was undeniably current. His initial foray into group assembling saw the creation of the famed Juice Flow. Williams would release records under his own name as well, including an eponymous LP in 1988. His first true mainstream success came as the producer for LL Cool J’s ubiquitous played Mama Said Knock You Out in 1990. Over the years, as the form evolved, he would work with hip hop and R&B heavyweights TLC, Rakim, Capone-N-Noreaga, Fat Joe and even longtime rival KRS-One.

About Roxanne Shanté

Queens-native MC, virtuosa queen of ‘80s rap, one of the first female battlers ever. Reared in Queens, the unconquerable Lolita Shanté Gooden is one of the first female rappers to carve out an indelible name for herself. An intrepid and precocious youth, she began rapping when she was only thirteen, as a member of the Juice Crew. The adoption of the stage sobriquet Roxanne was a calculated move to draw attention from KRS-One’s Bronx-based group (to start a lyrical feud with her Queens crew). In a battle for district supremacy in hip hop, the “Roxanne Wars” had begun, and Shanté’s fiery career took off. As an authentic rap battler, the sweet-voiced, silver-tongued Shanté squared off against the biggest names in the game. Her first album was a collaboration with fellow femme MC Sparky D, 1985’s Round One, Roxanne Shanté vs Sparky Dee, which featured the now-classics “Roxanne’s Revenge,” “Roxanne’s Profile” and a pure battle blowout where Shanté and Sparky went head to head on the mic. Other empowered Shanté hits of this time were the scratch-heavy, braggadocious “Have a Nice Day” and lyrically agile “Go on Girl.” Her solo albums include 1989’s Bad Sister, the 1992 comeback The Bitch is Back, and a Greatest Hits compilation released in 1995. Roxanne Shanté would go on to tutor young female rap artists, and came back to hip hop in 2008 with a fresh re-recording of “Roxanne’s Revenge” (which had just been ranked #42 all-time on VH1’s 100 Greatest Hip Hop Songs).

Follow Borough President Katz via @melindakatz or www.facebook.com/queensbpkatz

###

 
error: You are unable to copy this item