QUEENS, NY - La présidente de l'arrondissement Melinda Katz et le comité du patrimoine afro-américain organisent leur célébration annuelle du mois de l'histoire des Noirs le mardi 26 février, avec des spectacles culturels, des remises de bourses d'études, des distinctions pour les membres de la communauté ayant un sens civique, etc.

"L'histoire des Noirs est l'histoire de l'Amérique, et le Mois de l'histoire des Noirs est une reconnaissance importante des innombrables réalisations et impacts révolutionnaires dans tous les domaines et industries imaginables", a déclaré le président de l'arrondissement KATZ."Le Mois de l'histoire des Noirs est également l'occasion de réfléchir à l'idée que nous sommes tous des êtres humains qui méritent la dignité, le respect, l'égalité des chances et un traitement équitable."

La célébration, qui se tiendra au centre culturel Helen Marshall de la mairie du Queens, comprendra un certain nombre de spectacles culturels, dont un numéro de danse par les membres de l'Edge School of the Arts de Laurelton. Les artistes de Get Empowered ! clôtureront le programme avec deux danses afro-brésiliennes, la capoeira et la samba.

Le président de l'arrondissement, M. Katz, remettra également à plus d'une douzaine d'élèves du secondaire des bourses d'études universitaires de 1 000 dollars chacune. Plus de 150 élèves du Queens ont posé leur candidature pour une bourse dans le cadre du concours de bourses d'études sur le patrimoine afro-américain. Les participants ont été jugés sur leurs résultats scolaires et civiques et sur la qualité de leurs contributions écrites sur ce que le Mois de l'histoire des Noirs signifie pour eux. Les étudiants gagnants seront sélectionnés par le comité du patrimoine afro-américain dans les semaines à venir.

Le discours d'ouverture sera prononcé par Obba Babatundé, acteur nommé aux Primetime Emmy Awards et originaire du Queens, qui est également l'une des huit personnes qui recevront des prix en reconnaissance de leurs réalisations dans leurs domaines respectifs. Les lauréats sont les suivants :

Les sponsors de la célébration annuelle du mois de l'histoire des Noirs sont ConEdison, JetBlue, Greater Jamaica Development Corp, Ridgewood Savings Bank, Queens Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Resorts World New York, H & N Insurance Agency, Community Mediation Services, Jamaica YMCA, Ponce de Leon Bank, Get Empowered ! et NYC Health + Hospitals/Queens.

QUOI : Le Queens célèbre le mois de l'histoire des Noirs

QUAND : Mardi 26 février à 18h00

OÙ : Queens Borough Hall (Centre culturel Helen Marshall)

                       120-55 Queens Boulevard à Kew Gardens.

La présidente de l'arrondissement, Mme Katz, a félicité son comité du patrimoine afro-américain pour avoir coordonné la planification de la célébration. Le comité est composé de leaders communautaires qui sont convaincus de l'importance d'honorer le passé, tout en se tournant vers l'avenir.

Le comité du patrimoine afro-américain du président Katz comprend le président du comité, Andrew P. Jackson (Sekou Molefi Baako) ; le Dr Sonia R. Banks, Ph. D, LCP ; le pasteur John Boyd II, New Greater Bethel Ministries ; Cedric Dew, Jamaica YMCA ; Marc A. Haken, CB #8 Youth, Education and Library Committee ; John Harrison, Community Mediation Services ; Harbachan Singh, CB #8 & Queens General Assembly ; Roslin Spigner, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

 

 

Suivez le président de l'arrondissement Katz via @QueensBPKatz sur Twitter et Facebook.

###

BOROUGH PRESIDENT KATZ TO HOST ANNUAL BLACK HISTORY MONTH CELEBRATION: FEBRUARY 26

Posted · Add Comment

QUEENS, NY – Borough President Melinda Katz and the African American Heritage Committee will host their annual Black History Month Celebration on Tuesday, February 26th, replete with cultural performances, academic scholarship awards, honors for civic-minded community members and more.

“Black history is American history, and Black History Month is an important recognition of countless groundbreaking achievements and impacts made across every imaginable field and industry,” said Borough President KATZ. “Black History Month is also a time to reflect on the idea that we are all human beings deserving of dignity, respect, equal opportunities and fair treatment.”

The celebration, to be held inside the Helen Marshall Cultural Center at Queens Borough Hall, will feature a number of cultural performances, including a dance routine by members of the Edge School of the Arts in Laurelton. Performers from Get Empowered! will close the program with a pair of Afro-Brazilian dances, the capoeira and samba.

Borough President Katz will also present more than a dozen high school seniors with college scholarships of $1,000 each. More than 150 Queens students applied for a scholarship through the African American Heritage Scholarship Competition, with the entrants being judged on their academic and civic achievement and the quality of their written submissions as to what Black History Month means to them. The winning students will be selected by the African American Heritage Committee in the coming weeks.

The keynote address will be given by Primetime Emmy Award-nominated actor and Queens native Obba Babatundé, who is also one of eight individuals who will be presented with awards recognizing their accomplishments in their respective fields. The winners include:

  • Obba Babatundé – Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Peter Edwards – Sports Award
  • Cynthia Horner – Journalism Award
  • Meredith Marshall – Business Award
  • Mark McMillan, Esq. – Civic Award
  • Donna Edge Rachell – Arts & Culture Award
  • April Simpson – Borough President’s Award
  • Dennis Walcott – Education Award

Sponsors of the annual Black History Month Celebration include ConEdison, JetBlue, the Greater Jamaica Development Corp., Ridgewood Savings Bank, the Queens Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Resorts World New York, the H & N Insurance Agency, Community Mediation Services, the Jamaica YMCA, Ponce de Leon Bank, Get Empowered! and NYC Health + Hospitals/Queens.

WHAT:           Queens Celebrates Black History Month

WHEN:           Tuesday, February 26 at 6:00 PM

WHERE:         Queens Borough Hall (Helen Marshall Cultural Center)

                       120-55 Queens Boulevard in Kew Gardens.

Borough President Katz commended her African American Heritage Committee for coordinating the planning of the celebration. The committee is comprised of community leaders who feel strongly about the importance of honoring the past, while also looking to the future.

Borough President Katz’s African American Heritage Committee includes committee chair Andrew P. Jackson (Sekou Molefi Baako); Dr. Sonia R. Banks, Ph. D, LCP; Pastor John Boyd II, New Greater Bethel Ministries; Cedric Dew, Jamaica YMCA; Marc A. Haken, CB #8 Youth, Education and Library Committee; John Harrison, Community Mediation Services; Harbachan Singh, CB #8 & Queens General Assembly; Roslin Spigner, Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc.

 

 

Follow Borough President Katz via @QueensBPKatz on Twitter and Facebook

###