كوينز، نيويورك - استعرضت فرقة العمل المعنية برفع الشوارع في الشوارع ذات القناة العريضة التابعة لرئيسة بورو ميليندا كاتز هذا الصباح التقدم المحرز في مشروع رفع شارع القناة العريضة الذي تبلغ تكلفته 28 مليون دولار، الذي سيرفع من مستوى الطرقالغربية من 11 إلى 19 طريقا للمساعدة في حماية مجتمع القناة العريضة منالفيضانات الناجمة عن المد العالي من خليج جامايكا.

"هذه هي واحدة من أفضل فرق العمل التي رأيتها"، قال رئيس بورو كاتز. وقال " ان الوكالات المعنية تقوم بعمل هائل فى البقاء منسقا وأولويات احتياجات المجتمع . وهم والمقاول والمصمم والمجتمع يستحقون الثناء على عملهم معا وضمان تحقيق الأهداف المتفق عليها، وإبقاء الاضطرابات والمضايقات التي يتعرض لها المجتمع على أقل تقدير، وبقاء الجداول الزمنية على المسار الصحيح".

مشروع زيادة شارع القناة العريضة، الذي بدأ في أغسطس 2014، هو مشروع إعادة بناء من مرحلتين تحت إدارة النقل في مدينة نيويورك (DOT) وتديره إدارة التصميم والبناء في مدينة نيويورك (DDC). وهو ينطوي على رفع الشوارع من خلال عملية "تصميم الشوارع المشتركة" المستعارة من هولندا، حيث يتم رفع الطرق والأرصفة إلى نفس المستوى مع لون الرصيف فقط الذي يعمل على تمييز الطريق عن الرصيف.

وتنطوي المرحلة الأولى على رفع الطرق الغربيةالحادية عشرة إلى الطرقالثالثة عشرة الغربية، وهي شوارع الأحياء التي تم تحديدها على أنها الأكثر عرضة للفيضانات، على الطريق الصحيح للانتهاء المتوقع بحلول يونيو 2017 كما كان مقررا في الأصل. ووفقا لهذه الغاية، فقد بدأ العمل فيالطريقين الحادي عشر وال 12، ومن المتوقع الانتهاء من العمل بحلول نهاية عام 2016؛ سيبدأ العمل على الطريق13 هذا الخريف.

المرحلة الثانية ستغطي رفع غرب 14من خلال غرب 19الطرق. ووفقا لمجموعة RBA، وهي شركة تصميم المشروع، سيتم تقديم التصاميم إلى DDC هذا الأسبوع وتقديمها إلى المجتمع في يونيو. وستختتم مراحل التصميم في أوائل عام 2017، ومن المتوقع الانتهاء من المشروع بحلول نهاية عام 2020.

وذكرت شركة EIC Associates، المقاول، أنها ستبدأ في إعادة رصف مناطق موقف سيارات برود تشانل أمريكان بارك هذا الأسبوع الأكثر عرضة للفيضانات. تتم إعادة الرصف بموجب اتفاق مع المجتمع مقابل استخدام EIC Associates لجزء من موقف سيارات برود تشانل أمريكان بارك كمنطقة انطلاق أثناء البناء لتخزين المركبات والمعدات. كما التزمت شركة EIC Associates بإعادة رصف الجزء المحتل من القطعة عند الانتهاء من المشروع.

كما كان مكتب العمدة لعمليات استعادة المساكن على أهبة الاستعداد لمناقشة كيفية تأثر جهود التعافي من العاصفة الرملية في إطار برنامج "بناء عليه مرة أخرى" بمشروع رفع الشوارع. وأفاد مكتب حقوق الإنسان وشركة دي دي سي بأنهما يواصلان التنسيق من أجل تقليل التأخيرات إلى ارتفاعات المنازل من خلال برنامج "بناء عليه مرة أخرى".

نبذة عن فرقة عمل مشروع رفع شارع القناة العريضة

أنشأ رئيس بورو كاتز فرقة العمل لمعالجة القضايا المتعلقة بمشروع رفع شارع القنال العريض، وهو جهد بقيمة 28 مليون دولار لرفع مستوى الشوارع لحماية حي القناة العريضة بشكل أفضل من الفيضانات من خليج جامايكا. وتضم فرقة العمل أصحاب المصلحة في المشروع، وتعمل كمحفل يمكن فيه مناقشة حلول أي مشاكل قد تنشأ أثناء المشروع وحلها. ويرأس رئيس بورو كاتز الاجتماعات نصف الشهرية لفرقة العمل، التي تضم مسؤولين من وزارة النقل في مدينة نيويورك، وإدارة التصميم والبناء في مدينة نيويورك، وفيريزون، والشبكة الوطنية، وتايم وارنر كيبل، ومقاول المشروع EIC Associates، ورئيس الرابطة المدنية للقناة العريضة دان موندي الابن، ورئيس مراقبي خليج جامايكا دان موندي ، الأب، جنبا إلى جنب مع ممثلي عضو مجلس الشيوخ عن الولاية جوزيف ب. أداببو جونيور، عضو الجمعية فيليب غولدفيدر، عضو مجلس المدينة إريك أولريش.

اتبع رئيس بورو كاتز عبر @melindakatz أو www.facebook.com/queensbpkatz

###

BOROUGH PRESIDENT KATZ’S BROAD CHANNEL STREET RAISING TASK FORCE REVIEWS PROJECT PROGRESS

Posted · Add Comment

QUEENS, NY – Borough President Melinda Katz’s Broad Channel Street Raising Task Force this morning reviewed the progress of the $28 million Broad Channel Street Raising Project that will elevate West 11th through 19th Roads to help protect the Broad Channel community from flooding caused by high tides from Jamaica Bay.

“This is one of the best working Task Forces I’ve seen,” said Borough President KATZ. “The agencies involved have been doing a tremendous job in remaining coordinated and prioritizing the community’s needs. They, the contractor, the designer and the community are all to be commended for working together and ensuring that the agreed upon goals are met, disruptions and inconveniences to the community are kept at a minimum, and timelines remain on track.”

The Broad Channel Street Raising Project, which began in August 2014, is a two-phase reconstruction project under the New York City Department of Transportation (DOT) and managed by the New York City Department of Design and Construction (DDC). It involves the raising of streets through a “shared streets design” process borrowed from the Netherlands, where roadways and sidewalks are elevated to the same level with only the color of the pavement serving to differentiate the roadway from the sidewalk.

Phase 1 entails the raising of West 11th through West 13th Roads, the neighborhood streets identified as most vulnerable to flooding, on track for anticipated completion by June 2017 as originally scheduled. According to DDC, work has commenced on 11th and 12th Roads and is anticipated for completion by the end of 2016; work on 13th Road will begin this fall.

Phase 2 will cover the raising of West 14th through West 19th Roads. According to the RBA Group, the project’s design firm, designs will be submitted to DDC this week and presented to the community in June. The design stages will conclude in early 2017, with the project anticipated for completion by the end of 2020.

EIC Associates, the contractor, reported they will begin repaving areas of the Broad Channel American Park parking lot this week that are most prone to flooding. The repaving is pursuant to an agreement with the community in return for EIC Associates utilizing a portion of the Broad Channel American Park parking lot as a staging area during construction to store vehicles and equipment. EIC Associates has also committed to repaving the occupied portion of the lot upon the project’s completion.

The Mayor’s Office of Housing Recovery Operations (HRO) was also on hand to discuss how Superstorm Sandy recovery efforts under the Build It Back program would be impacted by the Street Raising project. HRO and DDC reported that they continue to coordinate in order to minimize the delays to the elevations of homes through the Build it Back program.

About the Broad Channel Street Raising Project Task Force

Borough President Katz established the Task Force to address issues related to the Broad Channel Street Raising Project, a $28 million effort to elevate streets to better protect the Broad Channel neighborhood from flooding from Jamaica Bay. The Task Force includes the project’s stakeholders and serves as a forum where solutions to any problems that may come up during the project can be discussed and resolved. Borough President Katz chairs the bi-monthly meetings of the Task Force, which includes officials from the New York City Department of Transportation, the New York City Department of Design and Construction, Verizon, National Grid, Time Warner Ca­ble, project contractor EIC Associates, Broad Channel Civic Association President Dan Mundy, Jr. and Jamaica Bay Ecowatchers President Dan Mundy, Sr., along with representatives of State Senator Joseph P. Addabbo Jr.,  Assemblymember Phillip Goldfeder and City Councilmember Eric Ulrich.

Follow Borough President Katz via @melindakatz or www.facebook.com/queensbpkatz

###

 
error: You are unable to copy this item