كوينز، نيويورك أعلنت رئيسة بورو ميليندا كاتز اليوم تعيين شارون لي نائبة لرئيس بورو، اعتبارا من 17 نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني. وسيخلف لي نائبة رئيس بورو ميلفا ميلر.

وقال رئيس بورو كاتز " ان شارون عضو موثوق به فى فريق القيادة العليا منذ سنوات ولم اتمكن من التفكير فى شخص اكثر استعدادا او معرفة للعمل كنائب لرئيس بورو " . "إن خبرتها الواسعة في حكومة مدينة نيويورك وعلاقاتها العميقة عبر مجموعة كاملة من مجتمعات كوينز وشغفها بالإدماج وتكافؤ الفرص والإنصاف والعدالة ستثبت أنها لا تقدر بثمن لمستقبل واتجاه منطقتنا العظيمة."

وقال لى " انه لشرف لى ان يعينى رئيس بورو كاتز وان يسير على خطى نائب رئيس بورو ميلر " . وقال " اننى اشعر بالتواضع لثقتهم بهذه الفرصة الجديدة للخدمة . مستقبل نيويورك هو كوينز، وأنا أشارك رئيس بورو كاتز رؤيته والتزامه بتمكين العديد من المجتمعات العالمية التي تسمي كوينز "الوطن".

شغلت لي منصب مدير الاتصالات في رئيس بورو كاتز ابتداء من نوفمبر 2014، عندما انضمت إلى المكتب.  كان لي جزءا لا يتجزأ من الفرق التي تقود الأولويات والمبادرات العليا لإدارة كاتز، بما في ذلك ترميم جناح ولاية نيويورك، وخطة عمل جامايكا الآن، ونصب كوينز التذكاري لقدامى المحاربين في فيتنام، والخطة الاستراتيجية لمنطقة كوينز للتكنولوجيا الغربية، وإعادة تطوير ويليتس بوينت ومطار لاغوارديا ومطار كينيدي. كما قامت لي بإخراج وتأليف عناوين رئيس بورو كاتز الأربعة عن حالة المقاطعة، وسلسلة أسابيع معرفة حقوقك، ومواقفها العامة بشأن قضايا تتراوح بين الهجرة وجرائم الكراهية والتعليم والحوكمة والأشغال العامة وأكثر من ذلك.

شغل لي سابقا منصب كبير المستشارين والسكرتير الصحفي للمراقب المالي لمدينة نيويورك جون ليو.  وفي مكتب المراقب المالي لمدينة نيويورك، كانت عضوا لا يتجزأ في الفريق الذي حدد وكشف الاحتيال وسوء الإدارة في قضية سيتي تايم الشائنة، التي أدت في نهاية المطاف إلى استرداد مبلغ تاريخي قدره 500 مليون دولار لمدينة نيويورك. كما ساعد لي في تطوير وتنفيذ استراتيجيات للمبادرات الرئيسية، مثل اقتراح إصلاح الاستثمار في المعاشات التقاعدية لعام 2012، وخطة تسريع رأس المال بقيمة مليار دولار، ومبادرة ضمان التقاعد في مدينة نيويورك، ومبادرات الشفافية الحائزة على جوائز مثل دفتر شيكات مدينة نيويورك وبطاقة تقرير M/WBE في مدينة نيويورك.

تخرج لي من جامعة ويسكونسن ماديسون بدرجة البكالوريوس في العلوم السياسية، ودرجة الماجستير في دراسات العمل من كلية جامعة كوني للعمل والدراسات الحضرية (المعروفة سابقا باسم معهد جوزيف مورفي في كلية الدراسات المهنية بجامعة كوني).

"أفكار نائب ميلر ، والمهنية ، والكاريزما والقدرة على تنفيذ كانت أصولا هائلة لإدارتي. فهي لم تكن مدافعة شرسة عن سكان كوينز البالغ عددهم 2.35 مليون نسمة فحسب، بل إنها إنسانة ذكية وعاطفية وصديقة جيدة". "خلال فترة ولايتها، كان للنائب ميلر تأثير لا يمحى من خلال دفع النمو الذكي والمنصف للأحياء في جميع أنحاء الحي، من لونغ آيلاند سيتي إلى فلاشينغ إلى جامايكا إلى روكوايز. أعمالها لا يصدق على مدى العقد الماضي سوف تستمر دون شك في تحقيق القوة عبر المجتمعات كوينز للأجيال القادمة. وأشكر نائبة رئيس بورو ميلر على خدمتها لهذا الحي العظيم، وأتمنى لها كل التوفيق في خطوتها التالية في حياتها المهنية المتميزة. كوينز لن يكون حيث هو اليوم لولا قيادة نائب رئيس بورو ميلفا ميلر. ولخدمتها وتفانيها، فإن الحي بأكمله أفضل وممتن".

وخلال فترة ولايتها كنائبة لرئيس بورو، صممت ميلر وقادت تنفيذ خطة عمل جامايكا NOW، وهي استراتيجية يحركها أصحاب المصلحة لزيادة العمالة الجيدة والتنوع الاقتصادي والأمن المالي في وسط جامايكا، مما أسفر عن استثمار عام بقيمة 153 مليون دولار وما يقرب من 1.5 بليون دولار في الاستثمار الخاص. وتحت قيادة ميلر، استفادت شراكة مجتمعية بين القطاعين العام والخاص من الخطة ومنحت أول مبادرة لإحياء وسط المدينة بقيمة 10 ملايين دولار في مدينة نيويورك، وهي منحة تنافسية لولاية نيويورك تهدف إلى الاستفادة من الأصول المجتمعية الجديدة والقائمة لضمان جامايكا، وتظل كوينز مجتمعا متعدد الاستخدامات بأسعار معقولة وقابلة للعيش ومستدامة للمقيمين والعمال والزوار. كما أشرفت على إنشاء خطة ويسترن كوينز للتكنولوجيا الاستراتيجية، وهي مبادرة تخطيط بقيمة 300 ألف دولار أنتجت مخططا مدته خمس سنوات للنمو العادل للنظام البيئي للتكنولوجيا في لونغ آيلاند سيتي وأستوريا من خلال خلق فرص عمل والعقارات للمبادرات المتعلقة بالتكنولوجيا. ربط تنسيق ميلر وتنفيذ استراتيجية تطوير القوى العاملة على مستوى الحي أكثر من 1100 باحث عن عمل بفرص العمل وساعد على خفض معدل البطالة في كوينز من 6.2٪ إلى 4.0٪ على مدى السنوات الأربع الماضية.

تم تعيين ميلر لأول مرة نائبا لرئيس بورو في 10 فبراير 2015، خلفا ليروي كومري، الذي بدأ ولايته الأولى في مجلس الشيوخ في ولاية نيويورك قبل شهر واحد. بالإضافة إلى دورها كنائبة لرئيس بورو، شغلت ميلر منصب مديرة التنمية الاقتصادية في مكتب رئيس كوينز بورو لمدة أحد عشر عاما منذ عام 2007.

الصور متاحة عند الطلب.

اتبع رئيس بورو كاتز عبر @QueensBPKatz على تويتر وفيسبوك

###

BP KATZ NAMES SHARON LEE AS INCOMING DEPUTY BOROUGH PRESIDENT

Posted · Add Comment

QUEENS, NY – Borough President Melinda Katz today announced the appointment of Sharon Lee as Deputy Borough President, effective November 17. Lee will succeed Deputy Borough President Melva Miller.

“Sharon has been a trusted member of my senior leadership team for years and I could not think of a more prepared or knowledgeable person to serve as Deputy Borough President,” Borough President KATZ said. “Her vast experience in New York City government, her deep relationships across the full spectrum of Queens communities and her passion for inclusion, equal opportunity, fairness and justice will prove invaluable for the future and direction of our great borough.”

“It is an honor to be appointed by Borough President Katz and to follow in the footsteps of Deputy Borough President Miller,” LEE said. “I am humbled by their confidence and this new opportunity to serve. The future of New York is Queens, and I share Borough President Katz’s vision and commitment to empowering the many global communities that call Queens ‘home’.”

Lee has served as Borough President Katz’s Communications Director beginning in November 2014, when she joined the office.  Lee has been an integral part of the teams driving the Katz Administration’s top priorities and initiatives, including the restoration of the New York State Pavilion, Jamaica NOW Action Plan, Vietnam Veterans Memorial of Queens, the Western Queens Tech Zone Strategic Plan, and the redevelopments of Willets Point, LaGuardia Airport and Kennedy Airport. Lee also directed and authored Borough President Katz’s four State of the Borough addresses, series of Know Your Rights Weeks, and her public positions on issues ranging from immigration, hate crimes, education, governance, public works and more.

Lee previously served as senior advisor and press secretary to New York City Comptroller John Liu.  In the New York City Comptroller’s Office, she was an integral member of the team that identified and exposed the fraud and mismanagement of the infamous CityTime case, which ultimately led to the recoupment of an historic $500 million for the City of New York. Lee also helped develop and execute strategies for major initiatives, like the Pension Investment Reform Proposal of 2012, the $1 billion Capital Acceleration Plan, Retirement Security Initiative NYC and award-winning transparency initiatives such as Checkbook NYC and M/WBE Report Card NYC.

Lee graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison with a Bachelor’s degree in Political Science, and a Master’s degree in Labor Studies from the CUNY School of Labor and Urban Studies (formerly known as the Joseph S. Murphy Institute at the CUNY School of Professional Studies).

“Deputy Miller’s ideas, professionalism, charisma and ability to execute have been tremendous assets to my administration. Not only has she been a fierce advocate for the 2.35 million residents of Queens, she is an intelligent, passionate person and a good friend,” Borough President KATZ said. “During her tenure, Deputy Miller made an indelible impact by driving smart, equitable growth of neighborhoods across the borough, from Long Island City to Flushing to Jamaica to the Rockaways. Her incredible works over the past decade will without a doubt continue to yield strength across Queens communities for generations to come. I thank Deputy Borough President Miller for her service to this great borough and I wish her only the very best on her next step in her distinguished career. Queens would not be where it is today were it not for the leadership of Deputy Borough President Melva Miller. For her service and devotion, the entire borough is bettered and grateful.”

During her tenure as Deputy Borough President, Miller designed and led the implementation of the Jamaica NOW Action Plan, a stakeholder-driven strategy to increase quality employment, economic diversity and financial security in downtown Jamaica, resulting in $153 million in public investment and nearly $1.5 billion in private investment. Under Miller’s leadership, a community-based public/private partnership leveraged the Plan and was awarded New York City’s first $10 million Downtown Revitalization Initiative, a New York State competitive grant designed to leverage new and existing community assets to ensure Jamaica, Queens remains an affordable, livable and sustainable mixed-use community for residents, workers and visitors. She also oversaw the creation of the Western Queens Tech Strategic Plan, a $300,000 planning initiative that produced a 5-year blueprint for equitable growth of the Long Island City and Astoria tech ecosystem through job and real estate creation for tech-related initiatives. Miller’s coordination and implementation of a borough-wide workforce development strategy connected more than 1,100 job seekers to employment opportunities and helped lower Queens’ unemployment rate from 6.2% to 4.0% over the last four years.

Miller was first appointed Deputy Borough President on February 10, 2015, succeeding Leroy Comrie, who began his first term in the New York State Senate one month earlier. In addition to her role as Deputy Borough President, Miller has served for eleven years as the Director of Economic Development for the Queens Borough President’s Office since 2007.

Photos available upon request.

Follow Borough President Katz via @QueensBPKatz on Twitter and Facebook

###