سهولة الوصول إلى موارد الهجرة في المدينة

كوينز، نيويورك – أعلنت رئيسة بورو ميليندا كاتز اليوم أنه ابتداء من يوم الجمعة 29 سبتمبر/ أيلول، سيعقد مكتب العمدة لشؤون المهاجرين ساعات عمل شهرية داخل قاعة كوينز بورو لتزويد السكان بسهولة الوصول إلى المعلومات والخدمات التي تقدمها وزارة الداخلية. كوينز هي أول منطقة تعقد ساعات عمل وزارة الداخلية، وتبدأ قبل أقل من أسبوع من الموعد النهائي القادم لتجديد التسجيل في 5 أكتوبر في برنامج العمل المؤجل الاتحادي للوافدين من الأطفال (DACA).

وقال رئيس بورو كاتز " ان ما يقرب من نصف سكان منطقتنا البالغ عددهم 2.3 مليون نسمة ولدوا فى الخارج ، وان اسهاماتهم العديدة لمجتمعنا هى مصدر قوة وجزء حيوى من هوية كوينز " . "المزيد من المهاجرين والمهاجرين المؤهلين DACA استدعاء كوينز الوطن من أي حي آخر، وفي هذا المناخ غير مؤكد على نحو متزايد، نريد الأسر المهاجرة أن تعرف أن نيويورك لديها ظهورهم. نحن أمة من المهاجرين، مبنية على ظهور عمالة المهاجرين، وكوينز هي كل مستقبل عائلاتنا. بهدف توفير كل الموارد لهم، عمدة دي بلاسيو، المفوض بالإنابة موستوفي وأنا نوسع MOIA إلى قاعة كوينز بورو، وهي شراكة أصبحت أكثر ضرورة في ضوء الإنهاء الوشيك لبرنامج DACA".

وقالت بيتا موستوفي، المفوضة بالإنابة لمكتب عمدة شؤون المهاجرين: "في الحي العالمي، حيث نصف جميع المقيمين تقريبا من المهاجرين، سيسمح عقد ساعات عمل شهرية في قاعة كوينز بورو بأن تكون وزارة الداخلية أكثر سهولة لسكان كوينز. "لا ينبغي أن يكون وضع الهجرة عائقا أمام الوصول إلى الموارد، ومن خلال برامج الخدمات القانونية للهجرة، IDNYC، والوصول إلى منتديات معرفة حقوقك، من بين موارد أخرى، تعمل إدارة العمدة دي بلاسيو كل يوم لجعل مدينة نيويورك مدينة أكثر شمولا للجميع."

ابتداء من 29 سبتمبر 2017 وحتى يوم الجمعة الأخير من كل شهر بعد ذلك ، سيتم تمركز ممثلين من فريق التوعية في حي كوينز في قاعة كوينز بورو في المكاتب التي يوفرها رئيس بورو كاتز. سيتمكن سكان كوينز من الاجتماع وجها أو لآخر مع ممثلي وزارة الداخلية بين الساعة 10:00 صباحا - 6:00 مساء في تلك الأيام ومناقشة القضايا المتعلقة بالهجرة بشكل سري، بما في ذلك إجراءات الإنفاذ المحتملة والإنهاء المخطط ل DACA، وهي مبادرة فيدرالية حمت 800,000 مهاجر غير شرعي في جميع أنحاء البلاد من الترحيل الذين تم إحضارهم إلى الولايات المتحدة كأطفال. ووفقا لمعهد سياسات الهجرة، يقيم 000 28 شخص مؤهل للحصول على الحصول على 22,000 في بروكلين، و13,000 في برونكس، و7,000 في مانهاتن.

وسيقدم ممثلو وزارة الداخلية في قاعة بورو معلومات عن كيفية الوصول إلى الخدمات القانونية للهجرة المتاحة من خلال ActionNYC، وهي مبادرة من مبادرة المدينة التي تقدم المساعدة القانونية المجانية والآمنة للهجرة من خلال شبكة من المنظمات المجتمعية والمدارس الموثوق بها. وسيقدم الممثلون أيضا معلومات عن العديد من الخدمات والمزايا الأخرى، بما في ذلك الموارد التي تقدمها منظمات خدمات المهاجرين غير الربحية التي تشارك في فرقة عمل الهجرة التابعة لرئيس بورو كاتز.

ولا يلزم تحديد أي مواعيد للاجتماع بممثلي وزارة الداخلية، كما نرحب بالضيوف. يمكن إجراء المواعيد عن طريق إرسال بريد إلكتروني إلى Depak Borhara من فريق التوعية في حي كوينز في [email protected] ستكون إعادة تمثيل MOIA متاحة في الغرفة 213 في الطابق الثاني من قاعة بورو، الواقعة في 120-55 شارع كوينز. يقع Borough Hall بجوار محطة كيو جاردنز/يونيون تيرنبايك على خطي مترو الأنفاق E وF ويقع على مقربة من العديد من طرق الحافلات.

قرر رئيس بورو كاتز إتاحة مساحة في قاعة بورو لساعات مكتب وزارة الداخلية كمتابعة للمناقشات التي جرت خلال المائدة المستديرة للهجرة التي عقدت في يوليو خلال أسبوع العمدة بيل دي بلاسيو "قاعة المدينة في منطقتكم" في كوينز. أوضحت تلك المناقشات الحاجة إلى الحصول على موقع مناسب في مركز كوينز المدني حيث يمكن للمقيمين الذهاب لمعرفة خدمات وبرامج المدينة.

وزارة المهاجرين هي وكالة تابعة لحكومة مدينة نيويورك تركز على تعزيز رفاه مجتمعات المهاجرين. والأهداف التي ينتمها المكتب هي تعزيز الاندماج الاقتصادي والمدني والاجتماعي لسكان نيويورك المهاجرين؛ وتعزيز النهوض بتنمية تسهيل وصول المهاجرين من سكان نيويورك إلى العدالة؛ والدعوة إلى مواصلة إصلاحات الهجرة على جميع مستويات الحكومة من أجل القضاء على أوجه عدم المساواة التي تؤثر على مجتمعات المهاجرين في نيويورك.

يمكن للمقيمين الذين لا يستطيعون الاستفادة من ساعات مكتب قاعة بورو التابعة لوزارة الداخلية أيضا الحصول على المساعدة من وزارة الداخلية من خلال الاتصال بالرقم الرئيسي للمكتب على الرقم (212) 788-7654. كما تتوفر معلومات إضافية على موقع وزارة الداخلية على www.nyc.gov/immigrants.

اتبع رئيس بورو كاتز عبر @melindakatz أو www.facebook.com/queensbpkatz
###

MAYOR’S OFFICE OF IMMIGRANT AFFAIRS TO HOLD MONTHLY OFFICE HOURS AT QUEENS BOROUGH HALL

Posted · Add Comment

Easier Access to City’s Immigration Resources

QUEENS, NY – Borough President Melinda Katz today announced that beginning this Friday, September 29, the Mayor’s Office of Immigrant Affairs (MOIA) will hold monthly office hours inside Queens Borough Hall to provide residents with easier access to the information and services offered by MOIA. Queens is the first borough to hold MOIA office hours, and begins less than a week before the upcoming October 5 deadline for enrollment renewals in the federal Deferred Action for Childhood Arrivals (DACA) program.

“Nearly half of our borough’s 2.3 million people were born abroad, and their many contributions to our community are a source of strength and a vital part of the Queens identity,” said Borough President KATZ. “More immigrants and more DACA-eligible immigrants call Queens home than any other borough, and in this increasingly uncertain climate, we want immigrant families to know that New York has their backs. We are a nation of immigrants, built on the backs of immigrants’ labor, and Queens is about all of our families’ futures. With the aim of making every resource available to them, Mayor de Blasio, Acting Commissioner Mostofi and I are extending MOIA to Queens Borough Hall, a partnership that has become all the more necessary in light of the impending termination of the DACA program.”

“In the world’s borough, where nearly half of all residents are immigrants, holding monthly office hours at Queens Borough Hall will allow MOIA to be even more accessible to Queens residents,” said BITTA MOSTOFI, Acting Commissioner of the Mayor’s Office of Immigrant Affairs. “Immigration status should not be a barrier to accessing resources, and through our immigration legal services programs, IDNYC, access to Know Your Rights forums, among other resources, Mayor de Blasio’s Administration is working every day to make New York City a more inclusive city for all.”

Beginning September 29, 2017 and for the last Friday of every month thereafter, representatives from MOIA’s Queens Neighborhood Outreach Team will be stationed in Queens Borough Hall in office space provided by Borough President Katz. Queens residents will be able to meet one-on-one with MOIA representatives between 10:00 AM – 6:00 PM on those days and confidentially discuss their immigration-related issues, including possible enforcement actions and the planned termination of DACA, a federal initiative that has protected 800,000 undocumented immigrants nationwide from deportation who were brought to the United States as children. According to the Migration Policy Institute, 28,000 DACA-eligible individuals reside in Queens, followed by 22,000 in Brooklyn, 13,000 in the Bronx and 7,000 in Manhattan.

The MOIA representatives at Borough Hall will provide information on how to access the immigration legal services available through ActionNYC, a City initiative that offers free and safe immigration legal help through a network of trusted community organizations and schools. The representatives will also offer information about many other services and benefits, including resources offered by the non-profit immigrant service organizations that participate in Borough President Katz’s Immigration Task Force.

No appointments are necessary to meet with the MOIA representatives, and walk-ins are welcome. Appointments can be made by emailing Depak Borhara of the Queens Neighborhood Outreach Team at dborhara@moia.nyc.gov. MOIA reprepesentatives will be available in Room 213 on the second floor of Borough Hall, located at 120-55 Queens Boulevard. Borough Hall is adjacent to the Kew Gardens/Union Turnpike station on the E and F subway lines and is in close proximity to several bus routes.

Borough President Katz decided to make space in Borough Hall available for MOIA office hours as a follow-up to the discussions that took place during the Immigration Roundtable held this July during Mayor Bill de Blasio’s “City Hall in Your Borough” week in Queens. Those discussions made clear the need to have a convenient location in Queens’ civic center where residents can go to find out about City services and programs.

MOIA is the agency of New York City government focused on promoting the well-being of immigrant communities. The Office’s goals are to enhance the economic, civic, and social integration of immigrant New Yorkers; facilitate access to justice for immigrant New Yorkers; and advocate for continued immigration reforms at all levels of government in order to eliminate inequities that impact New York’s immigrant communities.

Residents who cannot take advantage of MOIA’s Borough Hall office hours can also get assistance from MOIA by calling the Office’s main number at (212) 788-7654. Additional information is also available on the MOIA website at www.nyc.gov/immigrants.

Follow Borough President Katz via @melindakatz or www.facebook.com/queensbpkatz
###

 

 
error: You are unable to copy this item